Call Mr Robeson, September 2016

1st September. In August while at the Edinburgh Festival with Dr Ahmed I met a charming, well-spoken gentleman by the name of Tayo Aluko in the dressing room. Talking to him I quickly realised here was a really special performer. Later in the week I went to see one of his one-man shows – Call Mr Robeson. A dramatised account of the life of Paul Robeson, the famous actor, singer and civil rights campaigner, this was a brilliantly written and produced play, delivered with powerful dignity and wonderful singing by Tayo. The production included background music and song accompaniment by a pianist. Little did I know watching the production that I would be performing that role myself only a couple of weeks later! Having swapped numbers Tayo called me with only a couple of days notice due to a pianist being indisposed and there I was myself playing the show to a wonderfully appreciative audience in LLandinam, Wales. It really was a privilege to work with such a committed performed with such a powerful and highly relevant message in today’s political climate.

About iainjacksonpiano

Pianist, accompanist, sometime composer and arranger, Yogi, cyclist, Swedish learner.
This entry was posted in Tour Dates, Youtube and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

